Questing for the grail

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.30.47 PM
This started out as a tiny Robert McGinnis inspired sketch. I expanded it, added a cup, and  soon realized she reminded me Circe or a Grail Maiden. I wasn’t particularly in the mood to draw a femme fatale, so I played a little game. I drew her as Circe, with a cool reserve, but I would title her Grail Maiden. I didn’t want a sweet expression and thought that was a good way to get the ambiguity I wanted.

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.31.01 PM
Drawing hands and the original water/wine that obeyed our Newtonian Mechanics.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.34.14 PM
sketching elements

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.34.33 PM
the Endless Sky

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.34.49 PM
finalized (maybe) the color key. 

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.36.16 PM
It’s been so long since I used watercolor that I totally ended up laying down a too dark base layer. Then when I began to life it, the pencil lifted too.
Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.36.51 PM
“After yesterday’s art disaster, I had to redraw her and today I will try again.
Her light eyes keep throwing me off. I had to leave the area open for paint, so I didn’t pencil it in, but it’s bugging me so much.”

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.37.05 PM
Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.36.35 PM
“…are you flipping kidding me?”
I accidentally wrecked this one too. I was pressing it to remove some of the minor warping, something I’ve done a million times before, and instead it put two big creases right across her face.  I’m going to try and redraw her, but won’t do any painting until the Mercury Retrograde is over (which isn’t real but somehow still manages to cause chaos.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 5.38.57 PM
Here is (a detail) of the 3rd and hopefully final pencil version. I’ll see her again in 3 weeks.

Leave a Reply

