Alice in Wonderland English Rose

 

englishrose72 englishrose72view2All in the Golden Afternoon- English Rose from Alice in Wonderland. Based on Marianne Faithfull. Pencil and watercolor on thick Canson Acrylic 185 lb/400 g paper. She is sealed with Krylon Matte Finish spray. Available in my shop~

I first read Alice when I was 8. My school library had a volume with both Wonderland and Looking Glass in it. Of the 2, Looking Glass was my favorite and inspired me to play chess with my brother non stop. I’ve drawn quite a bit of Alice’s world over the years and I keep coming back to a wonderful mash up of 60s mod/psychedelic England. That inspired me to draw a lovely Wonderland Rose that bears a resemblance to the amazingly talented Marianne Faithfull. If you love the 60s I highly recommend her autobiography. 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. wow i really liked your blog. i was trying to find the follow button.
    love how you take inspiration from history and art.
    here’s my blog, follow me and i’ll follow you back
    https://heartofthehealerblog.wordpress.com/2016/02/04/febuary-crochet-goals/

    1. Thank you, that’s very kind. On the desktop version, the follow button is in the top right hand corner. I just looked at my mobile version and didn’t realise that wasn’t on there. I’ve changed it so that it’s at the end of the blog post.
      Thank you. I’ll take a look at your blog 🙂

      1. Okay thank you! I’ll def be looking forward to more stylish inspiration!

Leave a Reply

