jem72

I participated in the Instagram #80scartoonartfriends art party this month. Once I saw Jem was on the list, I knew I couldn’t say no. She’s 6″x8″, pencil and watercolor on 185 lb, Canson Acrylic paper. She is unframed and available in my shop.
I straight up fell in love with the cartoon when it came on, in tiny 10 minutes segments. Luckily it got picked up and increased to a half hour (including commercials) and dolls came out. The dolls were glorious. I quickly had nearly all of them, minus Rio bc I thought he was boring. I still have them at my Aunt’s house in Southern California.
Over the years I’ve day dreamed and doodled Jem art and thought a lot about the characters.
My inspiration for Jem is none other than one of my teenage idols, Debbie Harry-
16bc3a6d51e00437c10a28eaa6c45c0b

Yeah, I know. I drew Jem slightly more wholesome.

And who is my fantasy Jerrica? Who indeed…
905ba50527050a7ab8defc3437d58f18I have everyone cast and I’d like to do some more drawings!

