Singing Songs of Love~

The sun had set and I’d just started watching David Fincher’s “Zodiac” for the first time. My cell rang and it was an unfamiliar number. I got a sudden thrill. “A cute boy is calling me!” I was pretty sure it was the guy I’d given my number to the day before. I let it go to voicemail, paused the movie and listened to his message. Yep. It was him. I was giddy with nervousness and decided that I would call him the next day and see if he wanted to meet up. Then I unpaused “Zodiac.”

25234_1394260346324_4887572_n

The next evening when we met up I found out he shared a love of the 70s, serial killers, and Donovan. And he lived in San Francisco. We have many “songs” but whenever I hear this one I’m instantly transported to the first time he called~
Thrown like a star in my vast sleep
I open my eyes to take a peep
To find that I was by the sea
Gazing with tranquility.
‘Twas then when the Hurdy Gurdy Man
Came singing songs of love,

515px-Hieronymus_Bosch_040

In case you’re wondering what a hurdy gurdy is and what it sounds like,

Happy Valentine’s Day!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m excited for you! I always wondered what a hurdy gurdy is. Now I can relax, knowing I know, he he he.

    1. I can’t believe it was so long ago. I know people hate Valentine’s Day but it always makes my husband & I think, “Wait- how long have we been together?” It just doesn’t seen like 7 years!
      As for the hurdy gurdy, it’s one of those weird things that I felt like I should know bc I love that song, but didn’t. It was interesting to me that one is in one of my favorite paintings by Bosch ;D

Leave a Reply

