A few years ago I decided to make some jointed paper dolls. Unfortunately, after they were finished my printer decided to die, so I never posted them. But, gearing up for some painting has made me realize that, since I usually post digital work, no one is familiar with what my paintings look like. I use a stippling/ small dash method. Not a big surprise, but I like Wyeth’s beautiful tempuras combined with the flatness of medieval manuscripts. So here they are:

I LOVED doing this project. I LOVE Agatha Christie and became quite infatuated with the archetypes peppering her work (that’s a kind way to say that complex characterization was not considered her strong point). I read nothing but Christie for almost two years. HERE is the link to  some of my Christie books. I’m particularly attracted to their lurid covers. I love mysteries and since it’s Autumn, it’s the perfect weather for magic, mystery, and beautiful colors. These were, not surprisingly originally painted in the Fall. They are all gouache on Acrylic paper.

spinsterlysleuth72

The Spinsterly Sleuth (obviously Ms. Marple) with her gardening gloves, spade, birdwatching glasses, embroidered knitting bag, a book to track clues, a cup of (hopefully poisonless) tea, and a scrap of burned paper (most likely a clue). In case you’re wondering, I have a very similar skirt and the exact same shoes.

clevervicar72

The Clever Vicar is genial and well liked. He’s known to take an active interest in his parishioners and always has time for a hard luck case and a shoulder to cry on. So who was that letter written by and how did his letter opener get so… bloody?

darkhorse72

The Dark Horse is the Vicar’s wife. She loves venturing into the forest alone to collect flower specimens and store them in her vasculum. However, her bloody pruning shears and burned envelopes seem more than a little suspicious. HERE I am working on the “Dark Horse.”

goodsport72

The Good Sport is the envy of every man for both his talent at tennis and his beautiful wife. He never loses his cool, on the court or off, but then, what are those stains on his sleeve and racket? With so many questions to answer, no wonder he needs a scotch on the rocks. HERE I’m working on the “Good Sport.”

itgirl72

The It Girl- that chimeric creature both sporty and a bombshell (The lovechild of Katherine Hepburn and Gene Tierney). Highly competitive, with a wicked temper (usually where he husband is concerned), she longs to be taken seriously at golf and escape the shadow of her more famous husband. No wonder she claims to have had one too many martinis and can’t remember how her golf club could have possibly gotten so bloody.

I have sketches for more, but I’ll probably convert them into illustrations. The next set will be “English Seaside Murder.”

