The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place

Thanks to Karl, I’ve discovered Jon Klassen’s delightful art. After checking out, “I Want My Hat Back” and “This is Not My Hat,” I found this series written by Maryrose Wood and illustrated by Klassen. I wish wholeheartedly these books had been written when I was a child. They combine so many of my favorite themes: Victoriana, orphans, wolves, curses, explorers, and intelligent, well mannered people  making the best of difficult situations.

Miss Penelope Lumley, recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, is engaged as a governess for three children. These children, Alexander, Beowulf, and Casseopeia, are a special case. “Of  especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: “They must have been raised by wolves. The Incorrigible children actually were.” Miss Penelope has her hands full  teaching them not only History, Poetry, and Mathematics, but also how to sit at a table and not howl at the moon.

The series is enchanting and the the forth volume is due out in December!

photo (10) photo (11) photo (12) photo (13) photo (14) photo (15) photo (16)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ohhh. I love them! Thanks for posting.

    1. You’re welcome! I’m so addicted to this series now!

Leave a Reply

