Last night I saw David Byrne and St. Vincent perform in Oakland. They were spectacular. It was nice to see musicians who wanted to perform instead of looking embarrassed to be onstage. I didn’t take any photos bc I really hate it when you’re trying to watch a show and people are flashing their phones. It’s very distracting. 

TODO12003-_LTG_SECONDSELECTS_071

All photos and videos are from the official Love This Giant website. Annie Clark (St. Vincent) has bleached her hair and wore a different outfit, Bryne was wearing the same outfit. I loved the brass band. The tuba sousaphone was incredibly popular.

Bryne and Clark performed synchronized movements. The lights were fun and my friend remarked that they looked like Daleks. They did. Could. Not. Be. Unseen!
Clark esp utilized the shadows thrown on the curtain behind them. Near the end they performed a duel over a theremin- (last night Bryne wore a Lucha Libre mask.)

TODO12003-_LTG_SECONDSELECTS_066

I was pleasantly surprised that the live show had them on equal footing. Clark shreds on her guitar. Byrne’s voice is even better live than on records- it’s really, really beautiful. He can take a note and make it soar. It was even more impressive since it was the last night of the tour.
They have considerable chemistry and I’m not going to lie, if they want to take a break from making art babies, it would be awesome if they made a human baby. I think it’s bc I’ve read Dune too many times and keep hoping for the Kwisatz Haderach so I’m kind of gross about wanting brilliant people to have children and make the world more amazing. (I’m mostly joking. He’s 30 years older than her and the rumor is she’s gay.) But they are beyond adorable on stage together. You can tell they have a lot of respect for each other and really enjoy their collaboration.

The album is on Spotify and a documentary of his solo 2010 solo tour, Ride, Rise, Roar (which shares some of the same aesthetic) is on Netflix.

