Mail Me Art 3

I am participating in “Mail Me Art 3.” It’s a fun project where you draw/paint/whatever on an envelope and mail it to Darren Di Lieto of The Little Chimp Society. It will be exhibited in the UK and any profits from the sales of the work will be divided between three organisations: Water Aid, Teenage Cancer Trust and Animal Aid.

Jordan-WesterMailMeArt

Power Animal
2013
pencil on paper

I love that you can see the wear and postal marks! Is that weird? Anyway, her badge was originally going to say “Lonely Heart.” Then my tiny grey cells remembered that that’s the tag line of a very famous pop surrealist so I changed it to a dark horse, which actually fit the theme better.

The original rough sketch is from 4 years ago. I’ve been sitting on it trying to figure out if I wanted to paint it and if so, in what medium: watercolor/gouache, acrylic, or digital. For this project, I redrew the woman, leaving out the rest of her body. I hauled out my giant book of clip art animal reference and paged through the section on birds, trying to decide whose (who’s?) feathers he should have. They ended up mostly fanciful with a little input from some sort of Indian hawk (which seems apropos).  Next I propped open the B Anthology book, searching for the right face. This isn’t from the Pepper period, but it felt right. He didn’t have a beard in the photo so I added one. I’ve been Team Beard since I was a kid. You can see a snap shot I took the book/art mess I made of the kitchen table HERE.

It’s a great project that benefits charity and pushes me out of my Gollum-like comfort zone regarding exhibiting my art.

Leave a Reply

