I know what you’re thinking and you’re right, why isn’t everyone talking about how great Michelle Pfeiffer’s hair is in Dark Shadows? Because the world is populated by Philistines. So I have a confession, I love big Charlie’s Angels hair. Which is of course the opposite of what I have. But I have hope, because it’s also the opposite of what Michelle Pfeiffer has. I remember reading an interview in the 80s with her about her flat hair woes. Girl, I know your pain. But thanks to mousse, curlers, and learning how to round brush from a Texan I overcame my flat hair. Currently my hair is bobbed, but pics like these make me yearn to grow it out again.

owl macrame earrings {greatest nod to a character hobby ever}
I’ve had a girl-crush on Michelle since I saw Ladyhawke in the theater.
I wanted to make out with Rutger Hauer’s doomed lupine knight, but damn if I didn’t want to look like Michelle Pfeiffer while doing so.
And she just gets more beautiful as she ages. Her face has amazing bone structure, like Judi Dench or Katharine Hepburn.


And then there was HBC’s amazing hair color. I’ve been wearing a rather vulgar metallic avocado green eye shadow lately {blame Mad Men} so Helena’s Dr. Julia is embodying so much about how I look and want to look right now. I have an amazing Anna Sui pattern from the early 90s that’s very Biba. I ordered some crepe de chine in a suitably early 70s floral so I predict that I will be living out some fashion fantasies shortly. I’ll keep you posted!

Well, I’ve gushed enough about Dark Shadows. If you want to read more about Colleen Atwood’s brilliance, here are some interviews~

